top of page
  • Writer's pictureLisa Erdman

Life Changing Moments


On December 2, 2019 I was on a flight from Kansas City to Los Angeles to attend a Netflix event to celebrate the work of Eddie Murphy. I am a film critic with the Critics Choice Association and during awards season, I travel to both coasts quite often. I was looking forward to the event.


On this flight, I received word that my Mother had died. She was only 72 years old. She was living a great life – on her own, traveling, caring for her own mother – my grandmother who was 92 years old at the time. My Mother laid down for a Sunday nap and never woke up again.


It shattered me. As my family and I worked our way through this grief and everything that goes with losing someone, Covid was descending.


Being a film critic during Covid? Not much to do. Movies are shelved and theaters are dark. I had a choice to make. I could either survive or thrive. I chose to thrive.

I found out I have inherited a condition from my Mother called Factor 5. I had to have some hard conversations with my doctor about my own health and what I wanted for my future.


I took a manifestation class. I did Rieki. I opened my heart to the universe and let her fill up my soul.

I started on a journey of self improvement and healthy living. I started supporting other women who wanted to join my journey.


I am now living a sober life, free from all medication, 30 pounds lighter and so so incredibly happy in my quiet space.


My word is Selah. Peace. Connection. Pause. Celebrate.


I am looking forward to sharing more about my journey and being a beacon of hope for women who want the same thing. To find peace, connection, mental clarity and health.


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page